Brigalow and Nandewar

The pursuit of sustainable forestry is permitted within allocated areas in Brigalow and Nandewar as one of the multiple uses granted by the Community Conservation Area (CCA) Agreement for the region.

The Integrated Forestry Operations Approval (IFOA) sets the rules for these forestry operations and forms part of the coordinated approach to management of the four dedicated management zones.

Current version incorporating amendments

The Integrated Forestry Operations Approval for Brigalow-Nandewar Region (PDF 1.8MB) commenced on 23 October 2010 and has effect up to and including 31 December 2025. Note this is a compiled working document which incorporates the amendments and is not an official consolidation.

Original IFOA and amendments

Original Integrated Forestry Operations Approval for Brigalow-Nandewar Region – issued in 2010 as granted (PDF 1.6MB)

The following amendments have been made to the original approval

  • Amendment 1 (PDF 21KB) commenced on 1 March 2013. The amendment introduced pollution incident reporting and management requirements consistent with the Protection of the Environment Operations Act 1997.
  • Amendment 2 (PDF 23KB) commenced on 15 April 2013. The amendment extended the date for transition to green firewood under the green firewood strategy for 3 years from 1 January 2013 to 1 January 2016. The firewood volumes specified in the IFOA were adjusted on a pro-rata basis to fit with the new deadline.
  • Amendment 3 (PDF 29KB) commenced on 1 July 2013. The Statement of Reasons (PDF 13KB) explains the rationale for the amendment.

Background to the Brigalow and Nandewar region

The Integrated Forestry Operations Approval (IFOA) for the Brigalow–Nandewar Region applies to land in zone 4 (forestry, recreation and mineral extraction) and other Crown-timber lands in the Brigalow and Nandewar Community Conservation Area.

The IFOA forms part of the Community Conservation Area (CCA) Agreement which was established through the Brigalow and Nandewar Community Conservation Area Act 2005.

The Agreement provided for the coordinated management of four dedicated management zones allowing multiple uses: national park, Aboriginal Area, state conservation area, and State forest. The Agreement was made following detailed regional assessments of the area’s forests, in consultation with the communities of the three CCA regions: the Namoi, the Central West, and the BorderRivers/Gwydir.

(For the regional assessments and other historical documents which informed the development of the conservation agreement, please contact the EPA.)