Funding for voluntary regional waste groups

Program snapshot

Category: Dedicated funding for groups of councils

Amounts: Total funding of $8 million 2017-2021

Eligible bodies: Voluntary regional waste groups

Contact: 131 555 or

Status: Ongoing funding until 2021 for current participants


Waste Less, Recycle More supports collaboration for regional organisations of councils (ROCs), council groups and voluntary regional waste groups.

To date grants totaling $13 million have been awarded to eight voluntary regional waste groups covering 81 councils and 1.8million people in rural and regional NSW. Working together, these groups have improved collaboration across their regions, developed consistent research methods, shared skills and resources, negotiated cost-effective contracts and overall improved waste service delivery in regional and rural areas.

The groups have developed and continue to implement regional waste strategies and action plans, fund regional coordinators, undertake regional waste and recycling projects and maximize funding opportunities for local communities under the Waste Less, Recycle More initiative. 


Regional group Funding (2017-19) Participating local councils

North East Waste (NEWaste)*

Waste strategy


Ballina, Byron, Clarence Valley, Lismore, Kyogle, Richmond Valley, Tweed

Northern Inland Regional Waste (NIRW)

Waste Strategy



Armidale Regional, Glen Innes Severn, Gunnedah, Guyra, Gwydir, Inverell, Liverpool Plains, Moree Plains, Narrabri, Tamworth, Tenterfield, Uralla, Walcha


Waste strategy


Bellingen, Doffs Harbour, Kempsey, Mid Coast, Nambucca, Port Macquarie-Hastings


Waste Strategy


Bathurst, Blayney, Blue Mountains, Bogan, Bourke, Brewarrina, Broken Hill, Cabonne, Central Darling, Cobar, Coonamble, Cowra, Dubbo Regional, Forbes, Gilgandra, Lachlan, Lithgow, Mid-Western, Narromine, Oberon, Orange, Parkes, Walgett, Warren, Warrumbungle, Weddin, Wellington

Riverina East Regional Organisation of Councils (REROC)

Waste strategy



Bland, Coolamon, Greater Hume, Cootamundra-Gundagai, Junee, Lockhart, Snowy Valleys, Temora, Wagga Wagga

Riverina and Murray Regional Organisation of Councils (RAMROC), Murray Waste Group

Waste strategy



Albury City, Balranald, Berrigan, Edward River, Federation, Murray River, Wentworth

Riverina and Murray Regional Organisation of Councils (RAMROC) Riverina Waste Group

Waste strategy


Carrathool, Griffith, Hay, Leeton, Murrumbidgee, Narrandera

Canberra Region Joint Organisation

Waste Strategy


Bega Valley, Eurobodalla, Goulburn-Mulwaree, Hilltops, Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional, Snowy Monaro Regioanl, Upper Lachlan, Yass Valley


$4million over two years


More information

Waste and Resource Recovery Branch
Regional Delivery Team
Phone: (02) 9995 5755

Page last updated